City of Gastonia Receives Region of Excellence Award

Quentin McPhatter, Gastonia Assistant City Manager (far right) with Brian Sciba, Gaston County Planned Growth & Development Manager (center), and Emily King, Building Services Coordinator for Gaston County.

The City of Gastonia received a Region of Excellence Award from Centralina Regional Council in the Local Government Innovation category for its partnership in building inspection services with Gaston County, which delivers measurable value and impact at the local government level.

“We are excited to be recognized by Centralina for the collaborative work we are doing with our county to make processes seamless to our customers,” said Assistant City Manager Quentin McPhatter. “This partnership is an example of the success that comes from city and county government working collaboratively towards a common goal.”

The city and county worked through many challenges, including but not limited to, computer software utilization for permitting, the reassignment of Gastonia building inspection staff to Gaston County, and allocation of vehicles from the city to the county in order to ensure that the development community would continue to receive timely and high quality services. The outcome is a model that can be replicated in other local governments that are experiencing similar staffing shortages.

Several Region of Excellence Awards were announced by Centralina Regional Council on February 9, 2023. The awards are presented annually to recognize individuals, communities, and organizations for their outstanding achievements over the previous calendar year in support of Centralina’s mission to expand opportunity and improve quality of life in the nine-county region that includes Anson, Cabarrus, Gaston, Lincoln, Iredell, Mecklenburg Rowan, Stanly, and Union counties.

Established in 1968, Centralina Regional Council (Centralina) was created to serve the needs of our nine-county region, which includes Anson, Cabarrus, Gaston, Lincoln, Iredell, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly and Union counties. We are governed by a Board of Delegates, comprised of our member governments, and are one of 16 North Carolina regional councils authorized by the General Assembly.